DISNEYLAND!!!

Today I am 61 years old and I will be celebrating my birthday the way I have for 55 years, by going to Disneyland! I will be with my BF Marsha and we will check into the extremely overpriced Grand Californian Hotel and then burst into the parks to laugh, talk, go on a few rides and EAT. Ahhhhh tradition. Check out tomorrows blog for pics and to see how our day went.

1-9-2015 – Disneyland was great!

Marsha and I had a great time at Disneyland. She had very recently stayed at the Carousel Hotel and felt we should try it, much cheaper than any Disney Hotel. We were on the third floor in a 3 bedroom, one bathroom suite. We had a big living room and huge windows overlooking the park area. It was very nice and though not new or fancy, it was close to the park and a good price and clean and the people were friendly.

Marsha gave me an annual pass for my birthday and then we ate and shopped and walked and talked and even went on 6 whole rides! We had corn dogs from the cart near Main Street first thing, those are easily the best corn dogs anywhere, if you have never tried them, you won’t be sorry if you do! Then we wandered over to get a fast pass for Star Tours, got popcorn, and took the train to Main street. We walked around and went to the Winnie the Pooh ride and The Haunted Mansion, which was fun, it still has the Jack Skelington decorations. We bought some snacks, munched a bit and dumped the rest. We went on our Star Tours ride, it was so much fun, it is my favorite ride in the Disneyland Park.I got a mocha frap from the Starbucks on Main Street, I was able to use my Starbucks card, and then walked back to the hotel, so very close! We hung out, rested and chatted and watched TV.

Later we went to California Adventure , sadly the Soaring Over California ride (my favorite in that park) was closed, oh well. We had soup in bread bowls and then went to the Ghiradelli shop for sundaes, YUM! We rode the floating tires ride in Carsland, it is such a fun and silly ride. Then we tried a couple of Paradise Pier rides, one called the Zephyer and the other was Silly Symphony Swings. I have always wanted to try those but was afraid, Marsha was brave and I am glad cause they were fun. Our last ride was the Little Mermaid ride, it is very similar to the Winnie the Pooh ride, only a different story.

And then….Shopping, first to the Emporium in Disneyland, with a pause to watch the fireworks. We also shopped in the big Disney store in Downtown Disney. I bought a few gifts for others and a cute Mike (from Monsters Inc) antenna ball. I got my evening coffee at the La Brea Bakery, it was quite horrible! It was well after 10 by the time we returned to the hotel and we were both pretty tired. We spent about 20 minutes on email and facebook and stuff and then decided to go to bed. Marsha took the bed off the hall, she felt it was warmest and I slept in the bedroom nearby so we could talk, but we fell asleep almost as soon as our heads hit the pillows. This morning we were up and out by 8am, no alarms, just the way we are. With big hugs goodbye we parted knowing that next Jan. 8 we would be doing the very same thing! What a great birthday.

Here are a few pics from our day and of our hotel.

 

DSC00880 DSC00881 IMG_1472

DSC00886 DSC00887 DSC00885 DSC00882

 

Last year (2014)

IMG_0516

Leave a Reply

