Live Theater

                                                  th

I went to the Carpenter Center for the Performing Arts to see a production of South Pacific. I was there with a few friends and we all enjoyed the show. South Pacific has great songs and in my opinion the male lead in that show is a hard role. The lead in this production was amazing. He had the strong operatic voice that the role calls for and was also handsome and a good actor. All of the cast did a great job.

There was a part in the play where the soldiers stood to sing the National Anthem. We in the audience quickly scrambled to our feet and sang along. I noticed that most of the (few) children in the audience did not sing, and I believe it is because thanks to common core, singing is not taught in the lower grades and today’s kids do not know the words to many American favorites including our National Anthem. That is a very sad thing and I hope parents will take action and demand that the schools reinstate singing.

I love live theater! It is so special. Rather than the scenery being realistic, the actors are real and that brings the stories to life in a way that gathers the audience to a shared experience.

south_pacific                       th

I have been attending live theater since I was a teenager. Two of my favorites from those days were the original production of “Tommy” and another show called “Getting My Act Together and Taking It On the Road”. My friend Marsha and I enjoyed both these shows so much that we scrambled for every penny to afford to go to each more than once.

As the years went by and I saw more theater I became even more enamored of this genre. “Into The Woods” is my all time favorite but “Wicked”, “Phantom”, “Joseph”, “The Adams Family”, “Young Frankenstein”, “Anything Goes” are all wonderful and that is barely scratching the surface. There are also many plays that are not musicals, and those are also great.

If you have never been to a play, give it a try, I think you will like it. And if you are a playgoer, take a friend who has never tried it. Theaters can’t stay in business without customers and live theater is an important part of civilization.

If you have never been to a play, give it a try, I think you will like it. And if you are a playgoer, take a friend who has never tried it. Theaters can’t stay in business without customers and live theater is an important part of civilization.

Leave a Reply

