Wednesday on the ms Amsterdam July 1

IMG_0007

We woke up at 7 to see we had arrived at the dock in Junea during the night. We are both looking forward to todays adventure. Once dressed, we looked at breakfast but did not eat. I wore my plush lined leggings and sneakers, we both brought our warm coats and beanies. A row of busses were parked at the dock and many people walked around holding signs with the name of the tours. I bounced around excitedly while Terry stood to one side watching the action. There was also a row of booths with people selling a variety of tours.

We boarded our bus with 7 other people.

IMG_0009

The ride to the heliport was about 20 minutes. Once there we watched a short safety film and the guides helped us get our glacier boots on.

We were divided into groups, mostly by weight (lol). Terry and I were with a man and his mom, she seemed very brave to me. The lady and I had to sit in the front, which I would not have chosen. I was tense as the helicopter took off, but I began to enjoy it. The feeling was more like an amusement park ride than anything else. The ride was about 12 minutes and then we landed on the glacier. Wow.

IMG_0015 IMG_0016

 

IMG_0064 IMG_0058

There were guides who stay on the glacier, they have a hut to keep warm in. We were greeted by Bre, our guide, and she walked us all around. Bre showed us pools of water and explained how those pools formed. For many, the rocks that happen to be on the glacier get warm in the sun and then melt their way down, making a pool of clear, very blue, glacier water.

IMG_0084 IMG_0085

Following a suggestion I decided to try the glacier water. I lay flat on my stomach and dipped my mouth down and took a drink. It was cold and fresh and tasted just like water. (I really am laying down!!!)

IMG_0074

Bre pulled out some ice for us to hold and look at. We each bit off a piece, so much fun.

IMG_0086

IMG_0087

 

After about 30 minutes our helicopter came back for us. Of course I was an expert now and did not squeak or flinch once on the way back. It was a lot of money for a short experience but we are glad we did it. Glaciers are such a special part of our world, I wish everyone could see them in person. And I will say that the guides truly appreciate the glacier, it is more than just a job to them. They realize that the world has a changing climate and no one knows how long these things will last.

IMG_0092  IMG_0094

 

We returned to the ship to change and clean up and then we went on a stroll through Juneau.

IMG_0010 IMG_0011  IMG_0013

 

IMG_0126 IMG_0127 IMG_0128 IMG_0129 IMG_0130 IMG_0131 IMG_0132 IMG_0133 IMG_0134 IMG_0135 IMG_0136 IMG_0137

 

And another new friend in our room!

IMG_0161 IMG_0162

One thought on “Wednesday on the ms Amsterdam July 1

Leave a Reply

